fishopolis

Blue Peruvian Zebra Shrimp!

In Blue Peruvian Zebra Shrimp on November 24, 2010 at 5:41 pm

These came in yesterday at Aquatic Kingdom. Euryrhynchus amazoniensis! Wow that’s more than a mouthful! Cute little macrobrachium type shrimp that stay small and range in colour from reddish brown to pale sky blue. I tried to pick out the bluest ones.

Euryrhynchus amazoniensis pair on java fern leaf.

Blue Zebra male - notice the very large claws.

Blue Zebra female - smaller claws than the male.

Berried (holding eggs) Blue Zebra female.

Berried female again, different view.

Pretty nasty looking chompers!

Euryrhynchus amazoniensis are said to prefer softer, low pH water.

Very cool, colourful and rare little shrimp!

  1. Hi Brian!

    Let me introduce myself, my name is Walther Ishikawa, from São Paulo, Brazil.

    I am part of the team of a Brazilian website about freshwater invertebrates and aquaria, this one:
    http://www.planetainvertebrados.com.br/

    I found your blog when I was looking for some Aegla pictures, and I found this Euryrhynchus post. Wonderful pictures!

    I was wondering, do you mind if we use some of them in our webpage? It will be an all non-commercial use, with acknowledgments, and all the copyright will still be yours.

    If you prefer, you can contact me by email: wishikawa2@gmail.com
    By the way, this post reply is just to contact you, you don´t have to publish it, if you prefer.

    Thank you for your attention!
    Best regards!

    • hi walther,

      thanks for the kind comments.. please feel free to use any of my pictures for your website..

      brian

      • Thank you!!
        If you don´t mind, please contact me in my e-mail. I just have to know your name, for the picture credits.
        Best regards!
        Walther

    • Hi every body,
      I am looking for 10/15 Euryrhynchus amazoniensis.
      Any idea where to find them ?
      I am living at BE-7500 Tournai , Belgium.
      Thanks a lot and kind regards.

      Philippe
      philippemallie@voo.be

      • these little shrimp are seen from time to time on supplier lists.. u probably just have to ask your local fish store to watch the lists..

  2. hey do you still have these amazing shrimp? I am trying to find a source of them that is in the US, or will ship to the US… thank you

    • hi, don’t have them anymore.. they’re not too hard to find.. any store that is importing direct from sa should see these on a list..

Leave a Reply

